Samsung UE46B7000WW LED, dane-elec so smart, ndas, HDMI and audio

A couple of months ago I’ve bought a LED Television: the Samsung UE46B7000 a 46″ LED TV from Samsung, with full networking, yahoo internet widgets, media center and so on.

Yesterday I received for my (late) birthday a HDD Mediacenter Box (the dane-elec so smart, click here for specs).

The box come with a NDAS (more info here) technology used to dinamically connect a storage (the HDD box) via networks (both ethernet and wifi) and usb with multiple clients that concurrently read and write data from/to disk.

Unfortunally Ubuntu does not have native support for such technology but ximeta made available a suite of kernel modules and daemons (you can find both packages here and all installation instructions here

After package installation I was able to mount the drive without any cable. I’ve transferred a divx to the hdd (the caprica pilot, for instance), connected the hdd to my LED TV with the hdmi cable provided with the box and start watching the video.

But…. no sound went out from speakers. Damn! I thought was a codec problem, so I’ve attached the box by using the old fashion AV cables and (even if on a merely 576i sd mode) sound came out loudy (oops… I forgot to lower the TV volume….).

Then I’ve tried to connect another HDMI device (my lenovo sl500) using that hdmi cable and port and the audio came out, again.

So I’ve opened a ticket to the dane-elec asking if it would be a well known issue maybe resolved by menas of a new firmware version (in any case I’ve installed the last available firmware from the dane-elec site in the support section).

Dane-elec today replied to my ticket stating that the box is a HDMI 1.1 box and my TV, maybe HDMI 1.2, does not implements a retro-compatibility to 1.1 standard. They suggested contacting Samsung for a solution (another firmware installation, for sure. Nowadays there is a firmware for any device. Tomorro I will download a new firmware for my Swatch…).

I’ve checked my TV specs and, as I thought, it implements HDMI version 1.3… I don’t really know the differences between 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3 (search for them on wikipedia) but maybe this is the way to the solution. Is it possible to set one of the four HDMI ports to a downlevel version?

I’ve googled a lot finding nothing. Then I’ve decided to play a little with the service menu of the TV  (you can access the service menu by pressing in sequence the info, menu, mute, power buttons on TV remote when the TV is in standby).

The menu is really huge and there are tons of parameters with an obscure meaning to me….

I’ve browsed all the menus reading all the menu items and all the menu options… until…. eheheh I’ve found What I needed!

Choose Options->EDID in the service menu. Select EDID ON/OFF and choose ON. Press Return and select EDID 1.2 PORT. Choose HDMIx (with x the port you want to use as HDMI 1.2) and connect the box to that port (I’ve choosed HDMI2).

Now power off the TV then power on it again (to close the service menu) and enjoy your movie with sound.

Ciao Ciao

6 risposte a “Samsung UE46B7000WW LED, dane-elec so smart, ndas, HDMI and audio

  1. Gianluca,

    I own a lenovo sl400 with intel graphics with ubuntu 8.10 installed. Recently bought a panasonic hdtv, connecting the tv through hdmi port and configuring the tv display resolutions in Ubuntu (1920×1080) i only see a portion of gnome desktop, even when turning off the laptop lcd.
    I try using xrandr also and nothing, do you can give some light on this please?

    Thanks,
    José

  2. Gianluca,

    With Windows XP worked out of box. When i launch xrandr -verbose resolution 1920×1080 is listed.

    Regards,
    José

  3. I had the same problem of Ginluca with my lcd sharp aquos adn the Box so Smart.Dane Elec replied me that i had some problem in my box!
    now i know that is just a compatibility problem with my lcd. Unfortunally i can t set the hdmi port on my sharp aquos😦

  4. Hi there

    My names Dan and I run a blog providing reviews and tutorials on purchasing and installing TV’s.

    http://www.simplytvwallmounts.com/

    As your site is related to mine I believe we could both benefit from a link exchange. If you’re interested please get back to me on dantone@ymail.com.

    Thanks

    Dan

  5. I have the same problem – no sound when I connect via HDMI and the video plays too quickly. Same with a composite connection. My TV is an 18 moth old Samsung LCD. I guess it is a compatibility issue. I can play what ever is on the SO smart by connecting it to the TV via the USB connection – bit of a disappointment

Lascia un commento

